700 S. Waverly Rd.
Holland, MI 49423

(866) 465-5263 Pickups/Tracing
(616) 395-5000 Phone
Email Sales

Our Service Coverage

  • Headquarters in Holland, Mich.
  • Central United States and Canada


Press Release: Holland Sends Three Professional Drivers to National Truck Driving Championships

HOLLAND, Mich., Aug. 9, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- (NASDAQ: YRCW) -- Three professional drivers will represent Holland at the 2012 National Truck Driving Championships (NTDC) in Minneapolis, Minn., August 7-11.

To qualify for the national competition, drivers must place first in their respective class at state contests and maintain accident-free safety records the preceding year. This year three Holland drivers earned state titles to advance to the national event: Herschel Evans, Georgia, five-axle (Georgia State Driver of the Year); Mike Tobolic, Michigan, five-axle; and David White, Ohio, tanker.

Fans and supporters of Holland drivers are invited to follow their progress at the NTDC this week on Facebook and Twitter.

The NTDC is an annual competition of professional truck drivers hosted by the American Trucking Associations. This year marks the 75th anniversary of the event. The NTDC will test more than 400 drivers on many levels including skill behind the wheel, knowledge of safety rules and regulations, and the ability to spot safety hazards during a pre-trip inspection. The NTDC is a competitive event, but it's also a fun-filled, family activity celebrating the achievements of professional drivers and safety.

"Herschel, Mike and David have proven themselves to be among the nation's most professional and safest drivers. This is a special time for us to celebrate the professionalism of Holland drivers. Local, state and national driving contests are more than a test of how well a driver can operate a vehicle — they are a safety program that challenges drivers to sharpen their driving skills. We congratulate all Holland drivers who participated in driving competitions," said Scott Ware, Holland president.

Congratulations to all of the safety-conscious Holland drivers who competed in local state driving championships this year:

William Argeroplos, Dayton, Ohio
Gary Barfield, Columbia, S.C.
Sean Bates, Atlanta, Ga.
Charles Bauman, Chicago, Ill.
Marty Blandford, Louisville, Ky.
James Bowman, Atlanta, Ga.
Michel Boyce, Kansas City, Kans.
John Bumgardner, Minneapolis, Minn.
Brett Buzard, Dayton, Ohio
Billy Carnes, Atlanta, Ga.
Thomas Carlson, Minneapolis, Minn.
Dennis Cole, Kansas City, Kans.
Roger Couch, Atlanta, Ga.
Raymond Donaldson, Atlanta, Ga.
Ronald Doty, Buffalo, N.Y.
Steve Dowden, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Dave Durham, Indianapolis, Ind.
Albert Epperson, Atlanta, Ga.
Charles Essex, Atlanta, Ga.
Frederick Eitenmiller, Lincoln, Ill.
Dwayne Flemming, Charlotte, N.C.
John Fiorentini, Cleveland, Ohio
Joseph Gandy, Knoxville, Tenn.
Michael Gaskins, Atlanta, Ga.
Jon Good, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Danny Graham, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Jessie Harren, Minneapolis, Minn.
Harry Helgeson, Gaylord, Mich.
William (Don) Hill, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Tim Hines, Louisville, Ky.
Brian (Mitch) Jordan, Spartanburg, S.C.
Charles King, Lincoln, Ill.
Shawn Lashmet, Joplin, Mo.
James Lawless, Charlotte, N.C.
Noel Leach, Detroit, Mich.
James Looks, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Rickey Lukehart, Lincoln, Ill.
Gregory Maki, Akron, Ohio
Stephen McConley, Atlanta, Ga.
Shawn McCutcheon, Akron, Ohio
Daniel McKee, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Timothy McWhorter, Lincoln, Ill.
Brian Mertz, Detroit, Mich.
Shane Olds, Joplin, Mo.
Jerry Porchia, Kansas City, Kans.
Cecil Purkes, Lincoln, Ill.
Donald Putnam, Rockford, Ill.
James Rolow, Minneapolis, Minn.
Jack Rudeen, Minneapolis, Minn.
Eric Schoener, Buffalo, N.Y.
Russell Simpson, Columbus, Ohio
Todd Singleton, Chattanooga, Tenn.
Michael Snyder, Columbus, Ohio
James Steele, Minneapolis, Minn.
Arthur Suzuki, St. Louis, Mo.
David Weatherford, Knoxville, Tenn.
Donny Wethington, Louisville, Ky.
Jeffrey Whitaker, Charlotte, N.C.
Rayfus Williams, Charlotte, N.C.
Mike Wingerter, Kansas City, Kans.
Robert Wolford, Detroit, Mich.
James Yates, Atlanta, Ga.
Vladimir Yarulin, Charlotte, N.C.

About Holland
Holland has long been recognized for delivering the most next-day service lanes in its territory and annually records one of the lowest claim ratios in the industry. Founded in Holland, Mich., in 1929, Holland provides industry leading, on-time reliability for less-than-truckload shipments in the central and southeastern United States and in eastern Canada. Holland, recognized by Logistics Management magazine with its 2012 Quest for Quality award for 27 consecutive years, was honored for performance excellence in 2012 in the Midwest/North Central Regional LTL Carriers and Expedited Motor Carriers categories. For more information, visit hollandregional.com. Holland is a subsidiary of YRC Worldwide.

Website: www.hollandregional.com

Follow Holland on Facebook: http://facebook.com/hollandregional

Follow Holland on Twitter: https://twitter.com/hollandregional